Back to School and My PCPP


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Akrokerri
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

2/1/10

Hey everybody, how’s life? Life in Ghana is busy but wonderful. Most importantly, we have started the second term of the school year. I am proud to say that during the first week of school I actually held classes. That might not sound like a big deal to you, but at Asare Bediako SHS in Ghana, that is something to be commended. Last year, I was lucky if I was able to hold class by the third week of the term. During the first week I’d estimate that over half of the students had reported to school. New form 1 students are still reporting to school so I still don’t have a set register for all the students in my classes. I should note that we still don’t have a headmaster, but at this point I wouldn’t consider that a bad thing. The Assistant Headmaster is running the school superbly, and his influence is responsible for the change in the students’ actions and attitudes this year. At this point, I’d be happy if we didn’t receive a headmaster, because there’s a chance that the new presence might jeopardize the current improvements at the school.

On the subject of improvements at the school, I should mention the new classroom block. Despite the rapid progress during the first term, construction has halted since we vacated at the end of the first term. Since the district is funding the building it is likely that politics have a significant role in the halt of work. I would guess that the contractor was paid for only a part of the building and he is waiting for approval and funding from the district to finish the building. As it is, we are still short classrooms so the 4 form 1 classes are combined into 2 classes which means I teach half the periods but my classes are twice as large. I did the same thing last year so I’m use to it and I’m coping the best I can.

As many of you know, I wrote a PCPP (Peace Corps Partnership Program) to fund a project at my school. I’m pretty sure I wrote about it, but in case you don’t remember, the computer lab at my school was broken into last year and a computer was stolen. The Peace Corps Volunteer at my school before me helped fund and set up the creation of the computer lab at my school. The school is very fortunate to have 10 high quality computers and we are lucky that only one computer was stolen during the break-in. Since then the computer has been replaced, but security is still an issue with just a padlock keeping thieves out. In response to the security issue, I suggested a project to burglar proof the computer lab with metal bars over the doors and windows. With the support of the staff and PTA of ABSEC I wrote a project proposal and submitted it to the Peace Corps. After approval the project was posted to the Peace Corps website, at which time many of you graciously donated to the project. I am very happy to say that as of a few days ago, the project has been fully funded through your donations and I should have the money in my bank account to implement the project some time this week. When I found out the project had been funded, I didn’t hesitate to inform the teaching staff and I can’t accurately represent their appreciation and excitement in words. I’ll keep you up to date on the progress of the project, but right now I just want to say thank you to everyone that contributed. From me, the staff, students, and parents of Asare Bediako Senior High School, we are extremely grateful. Thank you again.

Last week we had inter-house athletics (track and field) at school. You might remember that I’m the House 1 master. In Harry Potter terms that would make me McGonagall for Gryffindor or Snape for Slytherin. I feel like a dork for explaining it that way, but it’s the easiest way to explain the British school system that we use in Ghana. House 1 was the defending champions for athletics from last year. Unfortunately, we were not able to repeat as champions this year. On an individual note, I would say that House 1 has the two best female athletes at ABSEC. If it wasn’t for these two girls, then we wouldn’t have done nearly as well as we did. Hopefully, the two of them will perform well at inter-school athletics next week. On top of being the House 1 master, I have also been placed on the new sports committee. Since I’ve been to every sporting competition of the school’s, nothing will effectively change from what I’ve already been doing, but now it’s official. As someone that ran track and field for 4 years in high school, it is disappointing to see students with such natural talent and potential not perform as well as they could simply because they don’t know the correct technique for the different events.

I usually try not to get too sentimental in my entries, but I’ve had a few conversations lately that have made a substantial influence on my perspective on things. It’s hard to believe that I’m already in my second to last term as a teacher in Ghana, which means I have just about 6 months until I finish my service and come home. Six months is a long time but I know it’ll pass faster than I could imagine. On a couple different occasions the topic of me leaving Ghana has come up with some of my friends/colleagues. I’d be lying if I said I never questioned the importance or effectiveness of my service as a Peace Corps Volunteer teaching high school math in Ghana, but these conversations have erased any doubt of my impact here. Each time the topic has come up; the response from my Ghanaian friends has been that they wish I would extend my stay in Ghana. Suggestions for me to stay have ranged from extending as a PCV, getting a regular job, and even playing soccer for one of the Ghanaian Premier League teams. I don’t want to raise any false alarms; I am definitely coming home in August, but it’s going to be a lot more difficult than I ever imagined. When I think about it, I know it’s a good thing it won’t be easy leaving Ghana. The friendships I’ve formed during my time here, both with PCVs and Ghanaians are ones that will remain for the rest of my life. All things must come to an end and my Peace Corps experience on its final leg, so I’m going to make the most of my time here and enjoy every minute I can. Let’s be honest, I’m a celebrity here. My outgoing personality combined with the fact that I’m one of 2 white people in Akrokerri makes me stand out and everyone wants to be friends with the white guy. Not that I think I deserve or should be the center of attention, but I’m going to savor the limelight while I have it.

I know many of you like my bug/lizard/rodent stories and I’ve been lacking lately. Sorry-o. This story isn’t particularly exciting, but I think it’s pretty interesting. Very Discovery Channel-esque. Over several months, I have observed some characteristics of the lizards that live in my bathroom. There have to be at least 4 different lizards that live in this small room. Depending on the time I go in the bathroom and where the lizards are when I enter, their appearance will drastically change. At first I just though their appearance just had to so with genetics, like blonde versus black hair. As I’ve been able to observe, the truth is that the lizards have surprisingly impressive camouflaging abilities. If I catch them on the white tile walls they’ll be practically translucent. If they’re on the dark wood of the door or window sill they’ll be much darker with diamond patterns. I realize that might be very interesting to you, but I know each of these lizards individually and they degree of change in their physical appearance is pretty cool.

Some of you that follow football (soccer) might know that the 2010 African Cup of Nations was recently held in Angola. Since Ghana qualified for the World Cup they were also included in the 16 team Cup of Nation. Going into the tournament, expectations were not high for Ghana with many experienced first team players absent due to injury or other matters. The young Black Stars team played an uncharacteristic style of football by Ghanaian standards, but the defensive strategy paid off with several 1-0 wins that took them to the final against 2 time defending champions, Egypt. Ghana has won the African Cup of Nations 4 times with the last win coming in 1982. This was also the first time Ghana had made it to the final since 1992. The final was the best Ghana played throughout the entire tournament, but they weren’t able to capitalize on the few chances they got. Egypt scored a late goal to give them a 1-0 win and their third successive African Nations Cup. The only consolation is that Egypt wasn’t able to qualify for the World Cup so that will be the highlight of their year, while this was just a warm-up for Ghana.

With April and my birthday around the corner and the fact that it’s probably the last chance for you to send me a package I thought I’d give a couple suggestions. My crystal light/propel powder reserves are running low. I could also use some protein powder to make all the pushups and sit-ups I do a little more effective. Anything else is gravy. Thanks again for all the support and I’ll give updates about the PCPP progress. God bless.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb