This is the life... of the volunteer


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » District of Banjul » Banjul
September 12th 2011
Published: September 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting here writing by windup lantern light. The electric has been off all evening which means, worse than anything, the fan's are off. The water is also off which means we're flushing the toilet, in the dark, with buckets of water. I've just had a bucket bath, in the dark, which was rendered useless as I was just as sweaty after drying myself as I was when I first started. To top it all I have a dodgy belly and sharing the house with four others while having this dodgy belly has to be the most mortifying experience of my life. I won't go into details!
So this is the life of the volunteer in The Gambia. Not that I'm complaining mind! I just want to remember this when I'm back at home sitting watching the TV on a comfy chair, glass of wine in hand, nice dinner in the oven, lovely clean toilet to go to and the prospect of a bubble bath later on.
Now I'm just praying that the fan's will come on at some point this evening or at least the lightening that has been looming overhead all night will actually turn into a huge downpour that will cool the place down. Ah the joys!

Advertisement



13th September 2011

I\'m so pleased to hear that your holiday is going well!!!!!!!!!!
15th September 2011

holiday in the sun
Just finished booking the flight and hotel. Can't wait to see you! This entry is NOT selling the holiday mind. Do I have to practise the bucket bath technique?
24th September 2011

It appears to be going well then!
So good to know that you are enjoying yourself in the Gambia! What better way to discover how the other half lives and how they do so with joy and dignity (except for toilet arrangements!). Missionaries who entered these countries many many years ago stepped out in faith and with great a desire to do good - just like yourself. They did a great job and we are sure you will too. A sense of humour helps when the going gets tough - keep that in mind and .....good look with those language skills. They could cause a bit of mirth. Love and good wishes from Tom and Maureen.
5th October 2011

ahhh shades of..
Central america!! Really cool blog hope you don't mind if I follow along :-)
5th October 2011

Thanks :)

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb