The Call


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia
January 16th 2014
Published: January 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am standing at a fork in the road and I am about to go down the rough side. I know once I take that step forward there is no turning back. It is a step that leads into the unknown and uncomfortable yet I must take it. The reason I must take it is because I hear my name being called to go that avenue. There are desperate, refugee children alone in a desert calling to God in whatever form they know. They are calling for help. The God of all creation hears there cries and He decided for some reason to call me to be one member of a team that goes to comfort these children. Tomorrow, Friday, January 17, I start my journey to a part of Ethiopia where it is dry and desolate.

As I stand at this fork I know the other road may be easier. It may involve physical comfort, I would not have to miss my child or husband. I would not have to sleep on a hard surface and swat malaria ridden mosquitoes. I may not get a runny tummy. But, I would be missing out. I would miss out on getting to see the hand of the Lord move and meet some of His precious treasures that are considered enemies by their country of origin. I would miss out getting to speak words of life that some have never heard. I would miss out responding to the Greatest voice that has ever called my name.

I have nothing in my suitcase that can provide relief to the 1000+ children that long for their mama's touch. However, I have two arms that can embrace them and a heart full of a mama’s love. Moses only had a staff, David only had a stone but when God called their name they were able to work miracles. I hope and pray we see some miracles along this journey!

My heart has been encouraged by the outpouring of support by so many generous people that have heard God call their names and encouraged them to pray and/or to give financially. Through your support I am reminded that these children are not forgotten by the King of Kings, that He is for them, and that He is using His followers to bring them comfort.

Together, we are going to make a difference!

Thank you!

Jennifer Phillips Lawrence

*If you are interested in more information/photos of the condition of Eritrean refugees you can google and find extensive information. I will have my own photos upon return.

Advertisement



17th January 2014

Praying for You
Jen: I am praying for your safety, for all of those precious children to find comfort in your arms and to hear the word of god that it may stengthen them and bring the comfort that only knowing Jesus can bring. Praying for your journey and you. Dona
17th January 2014

Praying for you!!
Dear Jen, I will be praying for you and the children for God's love to be evident through you!!!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb