To the Springs


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Southern Nations Region » Arba Minch
February 1st 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast at Teresa’s, Clare, Victoria and I headed off to Arba Minch - which means Forty Springs, stopping en route to buy pineapples. Deb and Alastair from Bale Mountains overtook us on the road from Shashemene to Sodo- what are the chances of that? We didn’t arrive in Arba Minch until after dark, so Clare and I were dropped off at Textiles (the compound where she lives) and arranged to see Victoria at work the next day.

Clare’s house, and the compound, was very different to what I imagined. The compound is a large grassed area with many more houses than I though there would be. Her house is one of the most basic VSO houses that I have seen, although she has made it very nice. While I was there, she got a new bed (with a spring mattress no less) and we rearranged the furniture, using her old bed as a sofa, in preparation for the arrival of another volunteer who was moving in with her later in the month.

Clare also has a kitten - who is so cute! Unfortunately, he did develop a habit of playfully attacking my feet!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb