Refugee Camp


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Somali Region
January 28th 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Refugees in DoloRefugees in DoloRefugees in Dolo

A brother and sister waiting for food at the refugee camp
11:51

This morning we got up and dressed and helped out in the refugee camp. I helped…well played with some of the children in the camp, There were some adults but mostly children that only had a few days left. It was heartbreaking watching those mothers watch their children slowly get weaker and weaker, skinnier and skinnier and ever so far away from survival. Most people were from Somalia who had travelled up here across the border to find help. This afternoon, we (Me and the family) are going to look after and feed the crops because yesterday the few cattle left died, leaving us with only the crops as food. They still aren’t ready from when we last checked them but we are very hungry so we might pick them anyway and cook them for extra time. At times like this I am really, utterly grateful that I do not permanently live here. I feel so sorry for these families. If the rest of the world came here they would realise too and hopefully we could raise more money to help them. Tomorrow night I’m travelling back up to Addis Ababa in the car with my driver and from there I’m getting a plane to Lusaka, Zambia and then a bus from Lusaka to Livingstone! I’ll be back tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb