Happy New Year!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Amhara Region » Gondar
January 6th 2014
Published: January 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Bahir DaarBahir DaarBahir Daar

Beautiful sunset
It's been a while!

Since my last blog I have been pretty busy. I won't bore you with all the details but will highlight a few recent events...

I went to Bahir Daar for a weekend (see photos) which was great – a refreshing change from Gondar. The town is situated by lake Tana and has the Blue Nile falls and source of the Nile close by. We visited monasteries and even saw a hippo in the lake! Went to an “Asmari bet” one evening which is a place where they have traditional music and dancing. I got dragged onto the stage and had to dance with the professional dancers in front of everyone. It was so embarrassing.

Then disaster struck – I ran out of dental floss (no joke!). I promptly booked a flight home to get some more. While I was there I went to a wedding, presented at a conference, caught up with friends and family and spent Christmas at home. In fact, I think that over the 10 days I was at home, I spent more money and consumed more calories than I did in 2 months in Gondar! No prizes for guessing which
Bahir Daar, Teller - traditional beerBahir Daar, Teller - traditional beerBahir Daar, Teller - traditional beer

My face looked like that too. Does not taste good at all.
photos were taken at home and not in Ethiopia!

My new nemeses in the guest house are the pigeons. I am now living in a different apartment (the one which I had mentioned in one of my first blogs as being nice but had a rat in it.). There is a nest on the roof and the pigeons are doing my head in. As soon as it gets light, they make a terrible din– their flapping around make all the windows and roof shake. It sounds very similar to someone trying to bash the front door down so I often wake up with a fright. If only I had a shot gun……. (says the vegetarian….well it’s not as if I will eat them……)

I went to a babtism party yesterday. The actual church service was 4 hours long so only a few devout orthodox family members went. Even the father, my colleague, only went for half an hour! We all went to the party instead which was in my colleague’s in-laws’ home. The house consists of a lovely ground floor but an unfinished 1st floor. This is usual in Gondar – people start building and then run out
Bahir DaarBahir DaarBahir Daar

Trip on lake Tana
of money so finish the 1st floor a few years later. No comments please about the fact that none of the babtism photos actually include the baby - my camera battery ran out!

It is now the weekend. I have been up since 0600 because of the pigeons and am currently sitting in the lounge in my pjs procrastinating, I have loads of preparation to do for teaching next week – so of course I am writing my blog, chatting on facebook, planning more adventures....

(So, after writing the previous paragraph, the author of this blog ended up site seeing around Gondar all day (after getting dressed first of course 😉 ) and then spent the evening in a beer garden. Nice!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bahir Daar monasteryBahir Daar monastery
Bahir Daar monastery

This is the first time that the priest had seen an i pad. He loved it!
Bahir daarBahir daar
Bahir daar

This is a fresh coffee bean. Coffee was discovered in ethiopia - the shepherds wondered why goats would get hyperactive after eating certain berries. They tried it, realised that it is better to roast them and the coffee industry begins.
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Coffee beans drying
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Me up a tree
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

A nun outside a monastery
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Nice juice
Bahir Daar Bahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Nice Juice
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Coffee ceremony
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

We decided to take the risk and eat the local fasting food in a market. It was tasty and none of us got sick!
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Fun in a bajaj
Bahir Daar Bahir Daar
Bahir Daar

I drove a bajaj. Great fun.
Bahir daarBahir daar
Bahir daar

Dancing in the cultural club.
Bahir DaarBahir Daar
Bahir Daar

Shoulder dancing....kind of.....


8th January 2014

What's a babtism??
Looks like you're having a fab time, monkey tourist. I particularly like the action shot of your stage antics!!! Xx
12th January 2014

Happy New Year pet :) looks like Xmas was loads of fun! Sending you big hugs, hope 2014 is gonna be fab! Loads of love xxx
xxx
14th January 2014

How lovely. You are enjoying all right. Nice to see the places we visited. Keep on blogging pet.

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb