A week in Addis


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
October 16th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been in Ethiopia for just over a week or so. I have yet to leave Addis Abba... but we will get to that story later.

I have to say I like what I've seen in Ethiopia so far. It is so laid back it seems. I had heard that is was really in your face and such. But I don't recall anyone yelling "faranji" (Ethiopian equivalent of Muzungo) to me yet. People just seem to mostly let me go about my business, maybe I just look... who knows. And hardly any traffic, and the traffic stops for people in the cross walk... that keeps freaking me out. A day hasn't gone by that I haven't seen laden and unladen mules being driven down the main streets. There is usually a herd of goats that is herded through at some time as well. Very unusual next to a nice SUV or a 50's looking taxi cab.

The downside to the city is the incredible number of beggars. I almost stepped on one my first day. On almost every street you can find people sleeping any time of day. There are lots of cripples as well. It is really pretty sad. It is nice to see the locals give money to the cripples though.

One of the first things I noticed on my ride into town, I arrived at night, were all the "Christmas" lights. Ok, actually they aren't. They are strings of red, yellow, and green lights, Ethiopian colors. They are hung on buildings and from all the light poles. They are still up from the Ethiopian Millenium celebration which was on Sept. 11 of this year.
One of the most decorated buildings around me is the Ethiopian Electric company. That and the roundabout in front of it plus the fact that the taxis look like vintage 50's or 60's makes me think of Christmas Story every time I walk past the building at night. I keep waiting for the snow, but it isn't that cold.

One of the other noticeable differences in Addis is couples. The hold hands in public and hug. That doesn't happen in any other parts of Africa that I've been in. Just an observation.

I did get accosted by a "friendly student" yesterday as I was walking around town. This is a scam where they pretend to take you to a "special", "traditional" ceremony and then when it is over they present you a bill for like $100, quite the scam. I wasn't having any of the going to a once a year ceremony. When he finally realized he wasn't going to get me to the ceremony he gave up. But not without asking me for money for his "guide" services so far. I figured I would give him a few birr because he did have some good insites on the buildings we passed and saved me getting in trouble by taking a picture of the palace. He wanted 20 birr. I said No and handed him 5 birr. He refused to accept it, so I put it in my pocket and started walking off. He wasn't finished though. He said "alright 10 birr." "No." "why not?" "I offered you money you didn't want it." "What can I do with 5 birr? I want the money to buy an exercise book for school and that isn't enough." "You can save it." "Yes I could save it, ok I'll take the 5 birr." "No." "Why not?" And this is where I feel my stroke of genius came in. "Because you offended me." "I don't know offended." "You insulted me. I offered you a gift and you didn't take it." "I'm sorry, can I have the money." "No, you disturbed me." "I said I was sorry." "Yes, and I forgive you but you don't get the money." "The money would be good for me." "But you disturbed me and so for me to give it is no longer good for me." Finally he gave up....

So this shoeshine boy had been hanging on the whole time and when we finished he immediately asked for money. Now I'm feeling froggy so I say "Money" He says "Yes, I shine your shoes." "I have sandels, what will you shine?" The kid is quick, he points to the small black sides of the soles. I just laugh and let him shine my shoes.

Malaria Take II


So the real truth of why I haven't left Addis yet is because I got Malaria again/still. This was a doozy. The first time was like just the Coast Guard putting a shot across my bow as a warning. The second time hit me like a bomb, like 1 hour into the reception I had just flown home for. Nothing like spending the night in bed with a fever.

By Sunday afternoon I was on my drug course and starting to feel better. (sorry mom and dad I knew it was malaria just didn't want to worry you) I tried to change my ticket but couldn't get ahold of Ethiopian Airlines so I figured I should go ahead and go to ATL. In the morning I was feeling better just really tired and weak, but it would be alright. Well by the time I reached Addis I was a mess again. I guess the malaria wasn't affected by my drugs this time. In the morning I went to the clinic. The doctor said I had Malaria again or the same stuff come back. He gave me drugs and sent me on my way. Maybe it was good I didn't stay in the US. Here I got my visit, tests, chest x-ray to clear me of TB, and drugs for <$30. In the US they would have wanted to put me in the hospital. That would suck with no insurance. (Ok, I have insurance it is just awful though)

Actually the clinic visit was quite nice. The radiologist invited me back into his office to talk while we waited on the film. He wanted to know about the US and what we thought of Africa. He also said to tell everyone that it wasn't about famine and it was a great place. It really is green here with lots of water...
The doctor as well, when I went back in to get my test results. He was studying for the American Medical Examination. He won the lottery and had a visa to move to the US. He is very excited. Wanted to know where he should live and what he should do and see. It was really fun to talk to him. He keeps telling me to come back for checkups. I think it really is just to talk about the states 😊

After that first night in Addis I haven't had any fever, but I haven't been right until just a few days ago. So very weak and I picked up a cough on top of the malaria so that is great fun. The thing I remember most about this time was the videos. I would close my eyes to go to sleep and it would be like I was watching TV. Sometimes it was sitcoms with sound sometimes it was psychadelic like Fantasia... but worse. If I opened my eyes it stopped, well paused, because when I closed my eyes it started where I left off. At one point I was trying to change channels and I think it worked.

I feel good and strong now. Tomorrow I'm off to explore the north. I just have 3 weeks left so I probably won't blog until I get home. Internet is so flakey all pictures will have to wait until I get home for sure.


Advertisement



22nd October 2007

malaria vs montezuma
Who'd win in that battle?? I guess you can die from malaria, so that answers that. Are you resuming your journey in Africa? Any particular path you're taking? Halloween party this weekend here - I'm thinking of being an Oompaloompa. I'll wear the costume with pride in honor of ya. Safe travels.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb