Guest Blogger - Samson


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region
April 7th 2012
Published: April 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My name is Samson. I am a worship leader at an Ethiopian church and, God willing, will graduate from a Bible college in June in Church leadership. I got married in June and am expecting a baby girl Abigail. I want to serve the Lord by serving people.

I am a good friend of Ashley and Megan, Ashley's sister. We met in December 2010 when they came for a mission trip and I am so glad to have met them because they have been such a blessing in my life ever since we met. They are amazing sisters who love the Lord. I have been translating for and serving with teams from the States since 2008.

I have seen God working through people from the States and also I have learned a lot from them. Actually, I learned most of my life principles from the Americans I met and they have made a big impact on my life. For example, in our culture we don't say "thank you"to each other but I've seen how Americans say it all the time and learned to do the same. When I was out to eat with friends and when I thank the waitress, my friends tell me that I shouldn't because I was paying for it. But now, because of what I learned from the Americans I met, I am not only saying "thank you" to people but also teaching others to do the same. I have learned that Americans learn to say thank you since their childhood.

I have also learned how to manage my time from Americans. There is a saying that there is no hurry in Africa. I learned that I don't have to be in a hurry but I need to be a good steward of my time.

Giving is also something I learned from the Americans and that changed my life. I have learned to give my money ,my time and my passion for living out the Great Commission.

I believe that my American friends learn a lot when they come here too. Most of the people who came from the US told me that they went back home changed. I believe it is a great experience to come to Ethiopia and see how God is working here. I hope to come and see how He is working in America.

Sammy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb