I cannot believe it's almost over!


Advertisement
Equatorial Guinea's flag
Africa » Equatorial Guinea
March 17th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pico BasilePico BasilePico Basile

Me on the summit of Pico Basile
The last month has been really busy back here in Malabo. Classes and field trips around the country have taken up the majority of my time. Time has gone incredibly fast for me, as well as my housemates. None of us are ready to leave. We leave Malabo on April 4th. Crazy.

Classes are going really well. I am learning a lot. It's hard to sum up all I have learned. However, most of the things I have learned weren't learned in the classroom. I have gained such an insight into the culture and lifestyle here I feel like this place has become like a second home. I have really gotten used to Malabo life and I will be sad to leave. This place has changed me. As my friends back in Gunnison know, I try to live as simply as possible. But being here has shown me that life can be much more simple than even I try to make it. You will never see a Equatoguinean living in slums complaining about ANYTHING. They are thankful for, and need nothing more than a loving family, a rusty roof and a dirt floor.

Anyways. I'll tell you about some
Pico BasilePico BasilePico Basile

On the summit again
of the amazing things we have done in the last month or so.

We have been going on field trips nearly every weekend. A fews weeks ago we all went to a town on the west side of Bioko Island called Batete. This place is unbelievably gorgeous. Here is one of only 2 completely wooden churches left standing in all of Africa. The craftsmanship and Spanish architecture is incredible. We also made the trip up to the top of Pico Basile (Peak Basile), which is a free-standing volcano towering over Malabo at over 10 thousand feet. It's really impressive considering the base is sea level.

Last weekend the Hess Oil company payed for all of us to fly on their private jet to mainland Equatorial Guinea, to a city called Bata. I didn't think that it would be any different than Malabo, however it is much, much cleaner and less populated. We stayed at the Hess compound in Bata. This place was more like a resort than an oil compound. We were really spoiled that weekend. We went sea kayaking and played golf. It was a nice little break from Malabo life.

Well 2 weeks left. This
Hiking in the jungleHiking in the jungleHiking in the jungle

Justin and I in the jungle
will probably be my last entry in Africa.

Off to Europe on April 4th. I'll blog about it. Be back in the states on May 3rd. See you all soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Alter in wooden church in BateteAlter in wooden church in Batete
Alter in wooden church in Batete

Added due to popular demand


19th March 2008

Sorry it's almost over
Hi Jofus, I stumbled across your blog and have really enjoyed it being an afficionado of Spanish speaking backwaters. Thanks a lot and please try to add photos of the church you mention and at least another posting. Best regards, Roy Bower Rocky Mount, North Carolina
26th March 2008

Anxious to see you next month ...
Yes, it is hard to believe how fast the time has gone, but we will be happy to welcome you back home in early May. Your dad and I look forward to seeing the pics of Africa and Europe and hear all the details. Enjoy and God bless the remainder of your trip! Love, Anell
6th April 2008

Thanks and Best of Luck
Hey Jofus, I too am sorry it is over. Thanks for the photo of the church. I would be interested in seeing any other photos of colonial architecture/culture remaining extant. And hopefully you will go onward with your travels to other exotic backwaters. There are so many and it is so much easier to get to see them than when I was your age (1970's). Please keep me posted! Thanks, Roy
7th April 2008

Joe, We have really enjoyed reading about all your experiences in Africa, hard to believe you are so far away. We are so proud of you, wish we could be in Co. when you get home to share in all your ventures. Please e-mail pics to us. Love you Aunt Jan

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb