Was that really Jackie Chan in the elevator?


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Let’s back up the camel a little and revisit an event from Monday shall we?
Late in the afternoon Rick and I entered the elevator to go down to the lobby to head out for some air and there in the elevator was a young Oriental gentleman wearing blue jeans, blue boater shoes and a black tee shirt with a print of an Anubis on the front. I look closer and I swear he looks just like JACKIE CHAN!
For those who do not know him, Jackie is a martial arts and comedic actor whose work I admire and have seen many of his films.
So there is this guy and I ask him “tell me why you look exactly like Jackie Chan?”
Now Jackie has a very distinct way of speaking and in perfect Jackieeese he says “I do? How do you know?”
I tell him I have seen his movies but noticed that this Jackie was wearing an earring diamond stud and I do not recall my Jackie with an earring.
We speak again and he laughs in the perfect style of Jackie and bounces out of the elevator and looks back and smiles and puts his fingers to his lips and says “shhhh” and the door closes.
So is this Jackie or not? I have no idea but if not he is a twin in every respect. Well it bugs me all night. I play every word over and over again and convince myself if he is not Jackie he has to be related. My plan is to bump into him at breakfast and make sure. Do I really think this Jackie will actually be on a tour and be in my breakfast group? Well yes because if he is not I will never know.
So satisfied with my plan I finally fall asleep. Next morning we get up and off to breakfast hopping to see this mysterious oriental.
Well we walk into the huge breakfast room and there at the juice bar is my target. I walk right up to him and introduce myself and the person in the elevator who accused him of being Jackie Chan. At first I apologized if I offended him but I assured him I meant no hard just he was a dead ringer for Jackie.
He laughs the perfect Jackie laugh and we the perfect imitation of the Jackie style of speech he assures me that “I am often mistaken for my cousin Jackie, we look so much alike!”
So there you have it a Chan but not Jackie. We chatted a little further and found out he was on vacation and had just come from Luxor where we are heading on Thursday. He assured me Luxor was much more relaxed and beautiful that Cairo and he assured me I would enjoy it as much as he did.
I told him to give my best to his cousin, as we are old friends now and we went our separate ways. Mystery Solved.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb