That Flight was Yesterday...ahhh!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
August 23rd 2008
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Cairo!

For those of you who don't know, I am in Cairo! Yes, its been a bit of an adventure, but I am here, safe and sound, and totally amazed!

I guess I should probably begin at the beginning. I am an idiot. In fact, I was fully convinced that my flight left Frankfurt airport on 22 August at 10:35, so I went to Frankfurt airport on 22 August. Unfortunately my flight was booked for 21 August. AHHH!!! That’s right folks, I have managed to do the dumbest thing possible and show up at the airport on the wrong day! Thank the lord it all worked out okay, and because I booked my flight through STA I didn't even end up having to pay anything. (There was definitely a bit of drama and stress there for a second, but it all worked out fine).

I ended up landing in Cairo at about 4:30am on 23 August, and thankfully ran into a group of AUC students also coming for the program, so managed to split cab fare with them. So not only did I manage to get on a flight that I shouldn't have, I made it to the dorms safe and sound! I amaze myself sometimes 😊.

Its currently 12:00am here in Cairo, so this post will be short (and picture-less, sorry! but I'll put some pics up tomorrow or the next day at the latest!). I'm am currently staying in the Zamalek residence hall of AUC, but in about a week I will move to a hotel where I will be until November (at least). For those of you who don't know, AUC's campus has moved and because of this, not all of the housing is ready for students, so they are putting us in a hotel until it is ready (though since I leave in December, it might not be ready in time for me). My roomie is probable one of maybe two British students who are here (she goes to school in Scotland) which is awesome for me, because that means I get even more international exposure 😊. She is extremely nice, and uses words like 'lift' which makes me smile 😊. Our rooms are huge, especially for just two people, and apparently when we move to the hotel we will have a bathroom to ourselves (yes!).

There have been a few activities put on by the international student office, and its been a good way to meet some of the people. Don't ask me names, I don't remember half of them! Everyone I've met has been really nice (of course, everyone is trying to make new friends...) and I've even managed to meet a fellow San Diegan! The two activities today were a trip to a mall (heaven!) which is about 5 minutes from where the hotel I will be moved to is (dangerous!) and in the evening we took a boat ride on the Nile. Amazing, to say the least! I promise I will post pictures, but orientation officially starts tomorrow (bright and early at 8:00) and I'm exhausted, so the rest will have to wait.

To conclude: I am the luckiest person ever, I love Germany and Egypt and I will be posting tons of pictures in the next few days!

Good night all and I hope you're well from wherever in the world you are reading this from!

Oh, and the internet connection here is iffy at bets, so don't be too annoyed if it takes me a couple of days to get things up!

Advertisement



25th August 2008

mall
mom .... put a /ki;ll on the mall and the C.C. that will save the heaven;-)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb