Land of the GREAT Pyramids


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 28th 2008
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, what can you say about the pyramids other then they are amazing but why stop there?? Egypt is full of sights, sounds, food and HEAT that will blow your mind. I began in Cairo and as anyone would do I headed straight to the Pyramids which were HUGE as you would expect. I spent all day there then stayed for the Sound and Light show which was a bit cheesy but amazing all the same. One of the things that surprised me was how close the Pyramids are to Cairo. In all the photos you see the desert behind them but if you look to the other side you see the city comes almost to the base of the Sphinx. After a few more days roaming around Cairo I hopped on a train to the far south of Egypt to Aswan.

Aswan is the southern most City in Egypt located like most cities on the Nile. In Aswan I took a small tour to Abu Simbel (twin temples were originally carved out of the mountainside during the reign of Pharaoh Ramesses II in the 13th century BC, as a lasting monument to himself and his queen Nefertari, to commemorate his alleged victory at the Battle of Kadesh). The temples were insane and at 6am all you could do was stare at them with you Jaw dropped. The next day I took a couple hour Felucca trip on the Nile (a traditional Nile boat) tried to escape the 105 degree weather I think that's impossible. From Aswan I grabbed a Train to Luxor to see the Valley of the Kings and Queens. Other then the heat Luxor was everything I imagined it to be and more. At times I was waiting for Indiana Jones to come running out of one of the Tombs but alas he never showed.

After another long train I was back in Cairo to stop to breath a bit before shooting up to Alexandria then back to catch my flight to Jordan.
Well there you have it Egypt in a week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Movie SetMovie Set
Movie Set

I tried to find out what the movie was but I wasn't about to scale down a cliff to ask the crew.. Sorry.
Really sets the sceneReally sets the scene
Really sets the scene

Now I know you are not allowed to take photos of people Praying but I couldent help it this time..
Sound and LightSound and Light
Sound and Light

A friend took this one with her fancy camera..
Abu SimbelAbu Simbel
Abu Simbel

It's 6:30 in the morning and you hike up a small hill turn the corner and this is the view it was amazing.
Nubian Temple Nubian Temple
Nubian Temple

The twin temples were originally carved out of the mountainside during the reign of Pharaoh Ramesses II in the 13th century BC, as a lasting monument to himself and his queen Nefertari, to commemorate his alleged victory at the Battle of Kadesh
My Felucca CaptianMy Felucca Captian
My Felucca Captian

He was an Egyptian version of Jack Sparrow.


3rd August 2008

Sweet!
Great pictures - I did that route a few years back too. Let me know when you're in Taiwan! (Or asia... I can come meet)

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb