The Market Place


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A shining example to the youthA shining example to the youthA shining example to the youth

OK, I'm sorry, but what are you gonna do? When in Rome...
From Rush - Today we went to the market place in Old Cairo. I did not feel so well. The toilets were in the ground at the Mosque whenever I went to the bathroom because I was sick. Then we had tea after that. And so I started feeling better then we went shopping. We bought Jett a little camel and a Egyptian shirt. For Mom we bought her an Egyptian shirt. While we were there uncle Matt bought me 4 scarabs and one red pyramid. We looked for more after that and then I started feeling worse then we went back to the hotel. Whenever we got back to the hotel we went swimming for about an hour. And now we are doing our blog. The market was so crowded that I had to hold on to Uncle Matts bag strap. The smell ( of the market) was probably the cause of making my stomach hurt even worse. Thats the end! Bye!

From Matt - on our way to the airport for a red eye to Joburg and then Antananarivo, Madagascar. Will catch up in a day or two.

From Vance - the market was very refreshing and everyone was very kind and accomodating...it involved the negotiating that we expected and appreciate as a part of the culture....the local taxi also hit us hard for a big tip, again a very acceptable part of the culture...gave rush some medicine and everything got moving...so he is back in good shape...heading south tonite so rush and i will cross the equator for the first time, and it is supposed to be winter down there, looking forward to cooling off....all is well...will meet mom and my little brother in madagascar day after tomorrow....

Advertisement



9th July 2008

Proper name
Rush.......those toilets with a hole in the ground.....we call one of those a "Squatty-Potty"............ At least there are usually places to place your feet and a bar to hold on to (or is that just in the fancier ones?) Hope you are feeling better by now. Nana
9th July 2008

Madagascar
I am soooo glad to hear Rush is doing better. Jett and I miss ya'll soooo much, can't believe you are not even half way through with the trip! Tell Assany we miss him and love him. Jett is with Granny and Pappy tonite so I will have my bed all to myself, not too sure I like that. Rush, I love you more than you love me. Vance, You are the Best and miss you the most.
10th July 2008

Thanks for taking me to Egypt....
I recall standing in line for 5 hot hours in 1977 under the New Orleans summer sun to see King Tut's treasures. It was amazing, just as your trip to the pyramids is. I am glad to see you are assimilating yourselves into the culture - that's half the fun. Enjoy !
10th July 2008

Wow and WOW again
How can it get any better? Jett spent the night with us last night. We couldn't get the DVD to work, so I pulled out my little one from the X-Job. Jutt calls it the little tv. We have enjoyed him, but he sure does miss his BUBBA. Keep up all the good info and pictures. Sorry about stopped up. That comes from the traveling. Oh, yes, guess A. Tammie is right, I think the stinky socks come from the Fisks, ha. Keep up the good work and the blogs, we are loving every one of them. Love ya'll lots and lots, and miss you just as bad.
10th July 2008

Madagascar
I've enjoyed travelling with you guys so far. I hope you get to continue the blog as you get farther from Western ideas of a communication grid. Bring lots of pictures to the reunion

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb