Ancient Egypt


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Cairo » Mohandessen
July 8th 2013
Published: July 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After I board my plane in Bangkok, I was off on another 9 hour flight. This time, when I awoke at 5am, I was in Cairo, Egypt, and it was really, really hot.

I didn't have any set plans when going to Egypt, I knew that I had access to a free hotel room (with my 6+ hour layover with EgyptAir) and was looking forward to a hot shower. I made my way to the hotel through all of the men trying to get me into their taxi and give me tours, and it felt good to just lie down in a bed for a few minutes. After a shower, I headed to the lobby and send a few emails and set up a tour so I could go out and see the area. I made plans with a guide, and by 6:30am, I was headed to the city.

After a short drive, I found myself in the streets of Giza and I was admiring all of the old buildings. I really enjoyed the look of Egypt but found it a bit depressing knowing the struggles of the region when they reside in such a historically rich area. The
Check this off my bucket list!Check this off my bucket list!Check this off my bucket list!

A photo of me on a camel, at the pyramids.
buildings look ancient and the landscape was like nothing I had ever seen, just desert as far as the eye could see. And soon enough, over the worn-down buildings, I could see pyramids on the morning horizon.

When we arrived, the morning sun was beating on my shoulders and walking no longer was an option. So, I opted for the next best thing, a camel! After talking to the guide for a while about the local histories and culture, we made our way around the pyramids discussing its structure and purpose. I was surprised how close the pyramids were in proximity to each other and was happy that I chose to ride instead of walk. I did find the camel a bit slow, and after some time, I asked the guide to swap my camel with his horse. Happy with this decision, the guide asked me if I would like to gallop the horse. Not knowing this was an option (since its not usually in America) I was pretty excited to get things moving, and within no time, I was galloping through the desert sands. And it was AWESOME! We then talked a bit about some of the other
Down the TunnelDown the TunnelDown the Tunnel

It felt like it went on forever!
structures and made our way into the Queen's tomb. When I was done exploring, I headed back to the car and was ready to relax in the air conditioning.

After another drive through the Cairo streets, and more thought on the current status of Egypt, I was hoping to get a better grip on the Egyptian daily life. I saw people in the streets and watched them go on with their daily life, and my guide told me that a big part of their day was smoking, so I thought I would give it a go. After a drive along the Nile river, I found myself in a hookah bar that overlooked the city streets as well as the river. Again, not understanding a lot of what was going on when people were talking, my mind wandered to all of the old histories that I had learned about Egypt. I was sitting on the same river that Cleopatra, Caesar, and so many others fought for, so many tried to obtain, the main waterway to the eastern side of Africa. For an area so rich in history, not only for Egypt but for the whole world, and to see it
HookahHookahHookah

Overlooking the river and city.
crumble in the modern world is quite a dispiriting thought. I finished my hookah (and my favorite, mango juice) and hopped back in the car for the last of my tour.

For the last hour or so, we drove around because I was really enjoying the sights and different parts of the city. I asked lots of questions about the buildings and life in the city, and it seemed like the conversation went on forever because I could barely understand through the thick accent. As the sun began to set over the city, I made my way back to the airport. Upon my arrival, I found myself exhausted and unhappy about the thought of another flight. I did manage to eat some good (but different) food before I boarded, but was wishing I had taken another shower. Egypt was so hot and dusty, I could feel it in my skin. My hair was a whole different story, I hadn't used conditioner in 3 or 4 days and it was starting to really show. But, none the less, I was on the last leg of my layover, and boarded yet another plane that would take me down the coast of
Giza StreetsGiza StreetsGiza Streets

Backstreets in Cairo.
East Africa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Overlooking the CityOverlooking the City
Overlooking the City

Some really awesome buildings in the old city.
Pyramids of GizaPyramids of Giza
Pyramids of Giza

Totally visible from the streets.
Chillin' with the SphinxChillin' with the Sphinx
Chillin' with the Sphinx

Me and my camel having a bonding moment.
The PyramidsThe Pyramids
The Pyramids

I'll never forget galloping through the desert!
Queen's TombQueen's Tomb
Queen's Tomb

It was really small and really hot!
The TombThe Tomb
The Tomb

The entrance to the Queen's tomb.
CairoCairo
Cairo

Me overlooking the city wand what seemed like the only green space I came across.
Egyptian HookahEgyptian Hookah
Egyptian Hookah

A bit strong for me, but a must in Egypt.
Giza HousingGiza Housing
Giza Housing

There were so many living quarters it was astounding.


10th July 2013

You will have so many great memories. I miss you so much, be safe, can\'t wait to see you!!!
10th July 2013

You will have so many great memories. I miss you so much, be safe, can\'t wait to see you!!!
22nd July 2013

Egyptian travel
Love your blogs & pics. Too d*** hot & dusty for me. Is it better than Bangkok? Keep writing..STAY SAFE!!!!! You can always come back, if you want to. L.J.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb