A once in a lifetime day


Advertisement
Congo, Democratic Republic of the's flag
Africa » Congo Democratic Republic » West » Kinshasa
June 18th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday, June 13 we traveled to Sona Bata, the village where I was born. Thus this day was the foundation of the idea behind my proposal for the grant I received from Lilly. It was of course with heavy emotion that I approached this day. Sona Bata is just about an hour West of Kinshasa. We left MPH around 8:30 and traveled the Matadi Road to Sona Bata. When we arrived we were greeted by the Pastoral Staff of the church at Sona Bata. We had time to tour the Hospital before Worship so we started up the hill.

We were accompanied on our trip to Bas Congo by Dr. Samuel Mampunza, the Dean of the Medical School at UPC and also Sammy, our driver from UPC. You'll hear more about them as the following blogs unravel. Dr. Mampunza and the Director of the Hospital led the tour and Dr. Mampunza arrived in the delivery room just ahead of me and in his best English said, "This is it, the reason we are here, the exact room where you were born." We laughed as the Congolese suggested my Mom get back up on the delivery table that you'll see in the photo. What meant so much to me was that Dr. Mampunza clearly understood the mission of our journey and he was so excited. My brother keeps telling me to pinch myself that we actually have this opportunity to be in the Congo and he actually leaned over and pinched me in church!

Worship in the Sona Bata church was over the top, such joy and the children once again kept receiving most of my attention. Wendy Bernhard, an ABC missionary has been invaluable to make the connections we needed in the Bas Congo. She preached in French at the Worship Service. The day will forever be unforgetable in my mind and heart.

Internet is so slow right now, so I'll just add a few photos to capture this day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The exact roomThe exact room
The exact room

This is where my earthly life began :)
My guidesMy guides
My guides

Dr. Mampunza from UPC and the director of the Sona Bata Hospital now.
My friend in WorshipMy friend in Worship
My friend in Worship

This little guy sang every song with his whole heart.
The Pastors at Sona BataThe Pastors at Sona Bata
The Pastors at Sona Bata

Also joined by Wendy Bernhard and my parents.


18th June 2010

Wow!!
Hello, my friend. Wow, I have tears in my eyes just reading this and seeing your photos! What an amazing journey for you and your parents and brother. I am sure it was just as emotional (if not more) for your parents...especially being back at your actual birth place. We just finished VBS! A wonderful week but know you were so missed!!! Can't wait to see you! Love to you and your family!
18th June 2010

Sona Bata is Beautiful
Love the emotion, the report, the people, the little guy in worship and the African dress. Pinch, pinch.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb