Cape Verde


Advertisement
Cape Verde's flag
Africa » Cape Verde » Sal
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Seppy running Cape VerdeSeppy running Cape VerdeSeppy running Cape Verde

Miles and miles of sand
Septima - the super sleeper

Having been here for about two and a half weeks, one would think that we would be sufferig cabin fever - yet surprisingly we are not. Although that may have more to do with the fact that given the amount of running we have been doing (yes - running on sand is now my personal hell) , Seppy has been designated the "super sleeper" of the group - having sucessfully slept for 14 and a half hours one night! oh the pride.

Sal is as expected sandy, although what surprised me is the fact that the beaches are naturally very clean -where is all the seaweed we see on the other half of the atlantic?

We started to learn how to kite surf but that endeavour was stymied by a small injury to Jonathan and Seppys continued sleepiness.

The weather is really nice, about 25 degrees most days with mimimal cloud cover so that helps with the acclimatisation (and the tan). My running is going really well and I am feeling really positive about the Marathon Des Sables. More positive than I would have expected to feel at this stage.

The local town is Santa Maria - not a lot too it but I guess in a few years it will develop into a thriving tourist metropolis. From lokin around, there are lots of excursions which we could do but when you factor in a 3 and a half hour run every day (and sunrise is at 7am and sunset at 7pm) then a fair chunk of your day is gone before you know it.

I am loving every minute of it - I wake up in the middle of the night sometimes and just have to smile because where I used to start thinking about work, now I think about my run that day or the next day or maybe about moving on to Thailand for more training - why would I not smile.

Back to the Dam soon for some organising (doing the ECG for the race) and then off again.

Hope all is well wherever you are.

Seppy



Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb