"Life is not easy"


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Life is not easy...

If you would have an idea of how many times a day I hear this sentence!!! It's insane!

But it's true and even on my side. It's been almost 2 weeks in Burkina faso now but I feel like it's been forever.

But first, let's start with the basic good and bad stuff. New things happened in my contract. First, I am now the one paying my own rent. But the good thing is that the NGO is giving me extra money for that. So with that money I was able to get the house I wanted. It's so nice. I can't wait to send you all pictures soon.

The only thing is that it's not furnished. SO i had to buy a fridge for 300 bucks, a little stove thing for 80 bucks including the gaz bottle and all the kitchen stuff for another 75 bucks. I mean, the prices are not expensive, it's just that it wasnt expected in my account. The good thing is though that everything I buy is new, so I will be able to get a really good price in return when I leave. I even had offers already for the moped.

Oh yeah, I am a happy rider now. I ride freely. I drove 2 days ago from the one side of the city I am now to where I will be living (which is on the other side of town). It takes 1 hour . I will soon send pictures of me riding as well.

But yeah, life in general is going great. My friend Belko is taking me everywhere, showing me the African ways of everything. I always eat African food in the street, eat with my hand, talk to people all the time, say hi, sit and talk the African way, got my hair braided by his sister, got a couple of African clothes made. Life is going.

But man, is it so slow. I,ve only been there for not even 2 weeks and I feel like i've been here forever. There is no notion of time what-so-ever. And there is always something to do too, which is different than Canada, where you sit and watch TV or go on the computer for a big part of the day.

But then again, I am not yet living in my house. Things will probably change once I get in my new neighboorhood.

I have a new name too: Nassara, which mean white. All white people are called this way. it's pretty cool to see little kids come and shake your hand and be all excited.

I am not yet shocked by poverty really. It is all around me but it doesnt hit me yet. My friend Belko sees me more as an African than a White person. I do so much the African way and learn so fast. He wants me for one night to live like he lived before. Just sleep on the ground in a little hut. I would really like to, just for the experience, but I told him i would bring my mosquito net though, cause I dont want to get malaria.

Malaria is huge here. So many friends we visit and say they think they have it or they have it and they are all weak and sick. It,s crazy for these people and I feel too lucky to have mosquito repellent and a mosquito net. They dont. They say mosquitoes are friends now.

Anyway...

My life is very different. So much that I barely think of Canada. I always said I though I had some African values in me and I seriously believe it. I live here like I had come here before. I already know the music and food thanks to my ex Fernand. I dont know. It's a weird feeling. But 8 months will seem forever.

I get my furniture delivered tomorrow and will move in on Tuesday. Then I'll start work. I think my life will change a lot after that. But I'm sure i'll like it anyways.

I gotta go for now but I will send pictures as soon as I settle down.

Love you all

Nathalie

Advertisement



1st October 2007

=O
I hope you think about me more then you think about Canada =P!!! I am jealous!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb