People, people, everywhere...


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » South-East » Gaborone
March 9th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As I've mentioned in previous entries, I've stayed in pretty much every type of accomodation there is to be found during my African travels. I've lived in converted stables, family homes, mud huts, luxery lodges & hotels, plus most things in between. During that time, I've met a great many of my fellow travellers, and it really is amazing what a melting pot Africa is these days.

Almost uniformly however, the most interesting people to be found are staying in amongst the cheapest accomodations. In the luxery lodges and the big hotels, all I seem to encounter are rich Americans on one or two week safaris. I am sure there are a few other nationalities spotted about there too, but to be honest the Americans are (almost) always so loud, that it sounds as if they're all there is.

Step through the door of a hostel or campsite bar however, and the whole world opens up before you. In the last three weeks alone, I've met folk from Bulgaria, Hungary, Serbia, Switzerland, Russia, Finland, Sweden, France, the Czech Republic, Spain, Ireland, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and yes; the US as well. Plus still more from a wide spread of southern African nations including Angola, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Zambia and Malawi.

Quite apart from their origins however, many are here not simply for a few weeks watching game, but are in the middle of adventures spanning months, if not years of their lives. I met a couple who had driven across the notorious Ethiopean/Kenyan border dodging the well armed Shifta rebels. Another pair are on their way North, hoping to drive all the way to Egypt. A night or two later saw me with a man who'd cycled across most of the continents on Earth before settling down here - he tells me that one day he might move on again...

Every third or forth person has done or is on their way to a volunteer project of some kind. Be it building bathrooms in Kenya, walking Lions in Zimbabwe, checking trees in South Africa, or looking after Cheetah in Nambia. It is good to know that so many are willing to give something back.

I don't know who or what I'll find around the next corner, but having already been waved at and greeted by one member of the government since arriving in Gaborone, I'm sure it'll never be boring.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb