Maun, Nata and Francistown


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Maun
May 3rd 2014
Published: May 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

P5040873P5040873P5040873

Sunset over Salt Pans
Maun is the focal point for all tourists in Botswana as it is closely located to the Okavango Delta, Moremi and Chobe game reserves. Unfortunately, our stay was marred by some appalling customer service at Audi Camp so we left after only 2 nights. To cut a long story short, I was refused a blanket which I required due to the freezing temperatures as they assumed I would steal it. Despite trying to suggest that I leave a deposit or my passport with them, they still refused to provide anything. In hindsight, I wish I had taken my business elsewhere and perhaps that is something I have learnt from that experience. All in all, very poor from Audi Camp and I have since reviewed them on tripadvisor and also sent an email to their management.

Moving on...Maun was a spread out town with all the facilities and amenities you expect from a touristy town. As we were so far out of town, we only spent half a day in the centre and it was nothing special. The highlight was walking around the local villages where we were staying, learning how locals live and seeing the huge numbers of cattle which roam free around the outskirts of Maun. Also, whilst crossing a bridge we got a beautiful view of the swamps which essentially make up the Delta - just in a much bigger format. It is an interesting landscape and one I'd love to see from the air - as I think you can only appreciate how spectacular the Delta is from above.

Nata - caught the bus to Nata where I'd come to see the vast Salt Pans - believed to be the largest in the World. The pan trip was fabulous. Due to heavy rains this year, much of the pans were flooded which meant there was a huge variety of birds in views - we also saw some wildebeest and a jackel. The magical moment was witnessing the sunset over the pans - it was beautiful. The vast open nature of the pans and the surrounding flora/fauna is magnificent.

Francistown - hitched a lift from Nata to Francistown with a Zambian truck driver who was heading towards Jo'burg. Upon leaving Nata Lodge, I decided I would avoid paying a fortune on a taxi and walk the 12km to town to catch the bus - although I was rather hopeful that I would be able to hitch and with 2km to go, I was in luck.

Nothing to report from Francistown apart from catching up on emails, blog updates etc - it was also a step closer to Zimbabwe which I am excited about.

Next stop - Bulawayo


Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

P5030825P5030825
P5030825

My tent at Nata Lodge
P5020821P5020821
P5020821

Maun - start of the swampy delta
P5010808P5010808
P5010808

Donkey - many cattle roam the streets/roads in Bots
P5050882P5050882
P5050882

Dumela Lodge - Francistown


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb